Lies, lies and more lies

After posting yesterday about the useless parenting wars that we inflict on each other, a fellow blogger and mom of twins posted this beautifully written take on the same subject. Looking back now, I can see I let the mom in the MOPS group get to me, especially considering I had so many better things to post about. Liam started walking the same day that her comment got the better of me, he even ‘sang along’ while Sean sang to him, and even Abram started standing up on his own Sunday without support. (Note to self, focus on the good and let the judgments of others fall to the wayside.)

Double Story

Boys

I am a working mother. I vaccinate. I only breastfed my babies for six weeks. I started my babies on solids at four months. I didn’t let my babies self wean. I sometimes let my babies cry it out. I didn’t wear my babies. I sometimes rock my babies to sleep.  We have a schedule. I let my babies have a bottle in their cots. I can’t tell what my babies are crying for when they are crying. Most of the time I have no idea what I am doing. Most of the time I don’t know what to do. I feel overwhelmed 90% of the time. I don’t have a mother’s “instinct”. I neglect my husband’s needs.

And I feel guilty about it all.

A few weeks ago, one of my boys was crying and he turned to his nanny for comfort and wouldn’t come to me. I was…

View original post 1,109 more words

Leave a Reply

