An Exponentially Exciting Marriage

Our first wedding anniversary and I didn't even know I was pregnant.

Our first wedding anniversary and I didn’t even know I was pregnant.

Today happens to be Sean and I’s wedding anniversary, our third anniversary to be exact.  What a whirlwind adventure our marriage has been this far.  On our first anniversary I was only a few weeks pregnant and didn’t even realize it at the time.  By the time our second anniversary rolls around we have the surprise of a lifetime, being our twin boys in our arms, debating over our future or rather Sean’s job outlook.  Here we are at our third anniversary traipsing all over Europe, living in Germany, and contending with two very energetic little boys.  It would seem that our marriage is exceeding the exciting factor by exponential leaps and bounds.

What pretty eyes you have! (Image found via Google images)

What pretty eyes you have! (Image found via Google images)

When Sean and I began dating I knew almost immediately that he was the one I wanted to spend the rest of my life, but to be honest, I think he realized before I even did…or at least he admitted to it in a fit of rage after only a few weeks of dating.  I’m sure the look on my face was a site to see when he first said “my future wife”, I’d guess my jaw was somewhere near the floorboard of the truck and my eyeballs about as big as a cute little bushbaby.  Okay, so the back story… I was being harassed by an ex of mine who as much as I wish wouldn’t have happened at all, also happened to direct my paths towards Sean.  Sean got a little mad after about 20 insulting text messages in an hour he said something along the lines of “It makes me mad that he is upsetting my future wife!”.  Then that resulted in the slobbering bushbaby face because at that point in our relationship we hadn’t even said those three little words…yes, we hadn’t even said ‘I love you’ and here he is telling me he’s going to be my husband someday.  As shocked as I was, it was also the turning point for me knowing he imagined a future together.

Less than a year later he had an engagement ring for me but it took him another two before he actually gave it to me.  I swore those had to be the two longest years of my life (I guess the year of wedding planning seemed long too)! Now here we are almost eight years later, college graduates, with two dashing wee little guys, living in a different country, exploring the world and inspiring each other to be the best individuals/family possible.

*Sean, if you are reading this (he doesn’t always read my post because “he is living them”) I’m sorry but I don’t have a card for you this year so I hope you don’t mind…but I guess I did just profess my unwavering love for you to a mass public if that makes up for it… It’s all true though, I remember telling Michelle that you were the one after leaving the bridal store after one her fittings before her wedding, and I still have that giddy school girl smile plastered to my face when thinking about professing my love for you all those years ago.  My heart was yours from the first kiss in your apartment when you were wearing those splendid Husker pajama pants.  Thank you for all of our years, and not just the past three as husband and wife.  This ‘growing old together’ thing is rather exciting, so cheers to more years to come!

That was a good day...

That was a good day…

2 responses to “An Exponentially Exciting Marriage

  1. Happy Anniversary! What gorgeous wedding photos 🙂 We are quickly approaching 7 years! It’s so shocking what can all happen in such a short time. And no, twins was never even a speck of a thought on my radar when we said I Do. Lol.

  2. Oh, how sweet!!! I am so happy for you, and thrilled that you not only found each other but that you’re living such an exciting life together… You don’t find that every day. The best of wishes to you both, always. So so so happy for you!!!!

Leave a Reply

